Cape Town Lodge - Program

Please check our facebook page – capetowntheosophy – for any unforseen changes to the programme

Venue:               Cape Town Lodge, 1 Ajax Way, Pinelands

                           (There is some parking on site, with additional parking at Howard Centre from which we are a very short walk).

Time  :               All normal Sunday presentations – 16h00

                           All Friday and Monday presentations – 18h00

                           Saturday/Sunday Mindfulness weekends – please see details, including times, on the Mindfulness Meditation page on our website www.theosophy.co.za

Contact :           071 491 6737 / besterdewald@gmail.com (Dewald Bester)

All Welcome

All our meetings open with the Gayatri Mantra.
Tea, coffee and a light snack is served following our talks.

Regular Speakers

Cedique Floverslong-serving member and current Secretary of the Cape Town Lodge. He is a self-described ‘student of H.P.B’, with a keen interest in Tibetan Buddhism. His inspirational understanding of the source Theosophical Teachings is a precious resource on which the Lodge draws. Cedique’s special link to Rosemary Vosse, previous president of the Lodge, links the Lodge to a heart lineage of service and compassion.

Dr Dewald Bester, current President of the Cape Town Lodge and member of the Executive Committee. He is a member of both the Adyar and Pasadena Sections of the Theosophical Society since his early twenties. Dr Bester has a Ph.D in Religious Studies from the University of Cape Town. His interests include the writings of Blavatsky, Theosophical history, and the opportunities offered by some contemporary strands in philosophy and the Academic study of religion. His aim is to participate in the unfolding of the Theosophical Society in the current historical period.

May 2024

Mindfulness Meditation Weekend and White Lotus Day Celebrations. Please enquire.

April 2024

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 28 April 2024, 15h00 – 15h40

Inner Group Teachings of H.P. Blavatsky – Members Only

Sunday, 28 April 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

Secret Doctrine Study Group – Cedique Flovers

Sunday, 21 April 2024, 15h15 – 15h30

Short Mindfulness Meditation

Sunday, 21 April 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

Introduction to Theosophy – Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 14 April 2024

No meeting but the Lodge and Library is open.

Sunday, 07 April 2024, 15h15 – 15h30

Short Mindfulness Meditation

Sunday, 07 April 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

“Truth. Is anyone really looking for it?” Open Discussion.

March 2024

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 31 March 2024, 15h00 – 15h40

Inner Group Teachings of H.P. Blavatsky – Members Only

Sunday, 31 March 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

Secret Doctrine Study Group – Cedique Flovers

Sunday, 24 March 2024, 15h15 – 15h30

Short Mindfulness Meditation

Sunday, 24 March 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

Introduction to Theosophy – Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 17 March 2024

No meeting but the Lodge and Library is open.

Sunday, 10 March 2024

No meeting – Lodge is closed.

Sunday, 03 March 2024, 15h15 – 15h30

Short Mindfulness Meditation

Sunday, 03 March 2024, 16h00 – 17h30 

Krishnamurti on leaving the Theosophical Society. A Discussion on the Theosophical Society.
(Short YouTube video and discussion)

February 2024

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 25 February 2024, 15h00 – 15h40

Inner Group Teachings of H.P. Blavatsky – Members Only

Sunday, 25 February 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

Secret Doctrine Study Group – Cedique Flovers

Sunday, 18 February 2024, 15h15 – 15h30

Short Mindfulness Meditation

Sunday, 18 February 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

Introduction to Theosophy – Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 11 February 2024

No meeting but the Lodge and Library is open.

Sunday, 04 February 2024, 15h00 – 15h40

Inner Group Teachings of H.P. Blavatsky – Members Only

Sunday, 04 February 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

Secret Doctrine Study Group – Cedique Flovers

January 2024

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 28 January 2024

No meeting. Executive Committee meeting in Johannesburg.

Sunday, 21 January 2024, 15h15 – 15h30

Short Mindfulness Meditation

Sunday, 21 January 2024, 16h00 – 17h30

“Truth is a pathless land.”— Krishnamurti. A Discussion on Truth.
(Short YouTube video of Krishnamurti reading his famous verse, followed by discussion.)

UCT Summer School: From Cape to Cairo

Thursday, 18 January 2024, 19h00

Reading Ancient Egypt: Mainstream and Esoteric Conceptions, with Dr Dewald Bester

Friday, 19 January 2024, 19h00

Poetry in Ancient Egypt, with Joseph Koetsier B.Ed. M.Ed.

December

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 24 December 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

No Meeting

Sunday, 17 December 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in The Secret Doctrine, with Cedique Flovers

Sunday, 10 December 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

No Meeting

Sunday, 03 December 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Guides to Living: Inspirational Text to Live by, with Dr Dewald Bester

November

Date:

Talk:

Monday, 27 November 2023, 18h00 – 19h30

The Mystery of Prayer and Devotion, with Dirk Schreuder. Indispensable for spiritual development. Prayers for protection, healing and thanksgiving. Why necessary. Who responds. Inspiration and intuition. Guides, gurus and teachers.

Sunday, 26 November 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation, with Dirk Schreuder

Sunday, 26 November 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Talks on The Voice of the Silence, Bhagavad Gita and Patanjali, with Dirk Schreuder. Kurukshetra and the Field of Battle. The Mystical Crucifixion. The Path of the Initiate

Saturday, 25 November 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation, with Dirk Schreuder

Saturday, 25 November 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Talks on The Voice of the Silence, Bhagavad Gita and Patanjali, with Dirk Schreuder. Karma and Reincarnation. A philosophic necessity. Evolution and spiritual growth.

Friday, 24 November 2023, 18h00 – 19h30

The Great Mystics: Guru Nanak, His Life and Inner Teachings, with Dirk Schreuder. Founder of the Mystical Path within Sikhism. First of the Ten Sikh Gurus. The Adi Granth.

Sunday, 19 November 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in The Secret Doctrine, with Cedique Flovers

Sunday, 12 November 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Highlights from the Luxor Conference, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 05 November 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Entering the Mental Plane, with Jozua Hugo

October

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 29 October 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in The Secret Doctrine, with Cedique Flovers

15 – 25 October 2023

International Theosophical Society Conference in Luxor, Egypt with presentations by Dr Dewald Bester, including tour to the Valley of Kings and the Great Pyramids. Please enquire for full details and comprehensive itinerary.

Sunday, 22 October 2023

Recess

Sunday, 15 October 2023

Recess

Sunday, 08 October 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

A Talk on Western Mysticism

Sunday, 01 October 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Understanding Religion, with Dr Dewald Bester  

September

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 24 September 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in The Secret Doctrine, with Cedique Flovers

Monday, 18 September 2023, 18h00 – 19h30

The Reality of the Subtle Planes in Everyday Life, with Dirk Schreuder. The Four Great Divisions. Physical, Astral, Mental and Divine. Manifest and unmanifest. Everyday experiences.

Sunday, 17 September 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation, with Dirk Schreuder

Sunday, 17 September 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Talks on The Voice of the Silence, Bhagavad Gita and Patanjali, with Dirk Schreuder. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Now Begins Yoga: Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.

Saturday, 16 September 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation, with Dirk Schreuder

Saturday, 16 September 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Talks on The Voice of the Silence, Bhagavad Gita and Patanjali, with Dirk Schreuder. The Practice of the Presence of God. As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he.

Friday, 15 September 2023, 18h00 – 19h30

The Great Mystics: Paramahansa Yogananda, the exalted Master of Yoga, with Dirk Schreuder. An Incarnation of Divine Love. His Spiritual Lineage. The Father of Yoga in the West.

Sunday, 10 September 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

An Approach to Western Mysticism, with Tamarinda Schreuder

Sunday, 03 September 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Esoteric Buddhism, with Cecil Plaatjies.

August

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 27 August 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in The Secret Doctrine, with Cedique Flovers

Sunday, 20 August 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Introduction to Theosophy, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 13 August 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

J. Krishnamurti: A Theosophical Tale (Youtube Video)

Sunday, 06 August 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in The Secret Doctrine, with Cedique Flovers

July

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 30 July 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Mantra Vowel Chant, with Johann Kotze and The Theosophical Society (https://johannkotze.com/)

Sunday, 23 July 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

A Basic Roadmap for the Recently Deceased, with Jozua Hugo

Monday, 17 July 2023, 18h00 – 19h30

The Inner Radiance, Self-surrender and Liberation, with Dirk Schreuder. That Divine Power which pushes All Things to Perfection.

Sunday, 16 July 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation, with Dirk Schreuder

Sunday, 16 July 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Talks on The Voice of the Silence, Bhagavad Gita and Patanjali, with Dirk Schreuder. Meditation, Contemplation and Spiritual Life

Saturday, 15 July 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation, with Dirk Schreuder

Saturday, 15 July 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Talks on The Voice of the Silence, Bhagavad Gita and Patanjali, with Dirk Schreuder. Truth, Self-knowledge and Enlightenment.

Friday, 14 July 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

The Great Mystics:  Ramakrishna, The Great Master, with Dirk Schreuder. 
Yato Mat, Tato Path: Many faiths, many paths. One common goal.

Sunday, 09 July 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Who were the Gnostics? (Youtube Video)

Sunday, 02 July 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Introducing Astrology, with Rob Rittel

June

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 25 June 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in The Secret Doctrine, with Cedique Flovers

Sunday, 18 June 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Rupert Sheldrake – The Science Delusion (Youtube Presentation)

Sunday, 11 June 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Creation Myths, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 4 June 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

The Esoteric Section of the Theosophical Society, with Dr Dewald Bester

May

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 28 May 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in the Secret Doctrine, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 21May  2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Buddhism is Theosophy: Early Western views of the Religious Philosophy, with Cecil Plaatjies

Sunday, 14 May 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation Weekend, with Dirk Schreuder

Saturday, 13 May 2023, 13h00 – 15h00

Mindfulness Meditation Weekend, with Dirk Schreuder

Friday, 12 May 2023, 18h00 – 19h30

The Great Mystics: Swami Sivananda, Maha Yogi of our time, with Dirk Schreuder

Sunday, 7 May 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

No Meeting

April

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 30 April 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in the Secret Doctrine, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 23 April 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Meditation – Some Theosophical Questions, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 16 April 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Invisible Worlds – Psychic and Spiritual Development, with K. Leland

March

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 26 March 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation Weekend, with Dirk Schreuder

Saturday, 25 March 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation Weekend, with Dirk Schreuder

Friday, 24 March 2023, 18h00 – 19h30

The Great Mystics: Kabir, the Great Mystic, with Dirk Schreuder

Sunday, 19 March 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Reflections on a Life in Theosophy, with Joseph Koetsier

Sunday, 12 March 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in the Secret Doctrine, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 05 March 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

The Esoteric Section and Inner Group teachings of the Theosophical Society

February

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 26 February 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in the Secret Doctrine, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 19 February 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

H.P. Blavatsky’s Masonic Diploma, with L. van der Westhuizen and Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 12 February 2023

No Meeting

Sunday, 05 February 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Exploring the Mani Mantra, with Johann Kotze. Join us as we sound the Om Mani Padme Hum Mantra. For information on Johann please visit his website – (https://johannkotze.com/)

January

Date:

Talk:

Sunday, 29 January 2023, 16h00 – 17h30

Studies in the Secret Doctrine, with Dr Dewald Bester

Sunday, 22 January 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation Weekend, with Dirk Schreuder

Saturday, 21 January 2023, 13h00 – 15h30

Mindfulness Meditation Weekend, with Dirk Schreuder